Committee Appoints Stakeholder Advisory Group, Adds 2 Scientists to Blue Ribbon Citizen Commission
Author: California Natural Resources Agency
Published on Aug 10, 2011 - 8:12:01 AM

SACRAMENTO, Calif. Aug. 10, 2011 – The Fish and Wildlife Strategic Vision Executive Committee today unanimously approved the Stakeholder Advisory Group and added two scientists to the Blue Ribbon Citizen Commission. The 52 members of the Stakeholder Advisory Group were selected from more than 130 applicants. The members were chosen using the criteria and interest areas mandated by AB 2376 (Huffman). It was not possible to accommodate all those who were interested in serving and still keep the group to a workable size. To the extent possible, organizations were sought which represent coalitions of like-minded groups. All of the Stakeholder Advisory Group meetings will be open to the public in order to provide opportunities for direct input into the Fish and Wildlife Strategic Vision process. The final members of the group are listed below and on the strategic vision website.

The first meeting of the Stakeholder Advisory Group will be held Friday, Aug. 19 at 9:30 a.m. in the Resources Building Auditorium, 1416 Ninth Street, Sacramento, California 95814. Members are welcome to participate remotely via WebEx. The meeting agenda can be found here.

The Executive Committee also unanimously voted to appoint two science experts to the Blue Ribbon Citizen Commission.

David M. Graber, PhD, Chief Scientist, Pacific West Region, National Park Service (NPS)

Graber has devoted his career to assuring that policy and management are fully informed by the best scientific information. He works closely with agencies at all levels of government, private organizations, and academic institutions to further conservation of nature.

Skyli McAfee, Executive Director, California Ocean Science Trust (OST)

McAfee has spent her career in marine science at laboratories throughout the country. Prior to leading the OST, McAfee was at the University of California, Davis, Bodega Marine Laboratory, where she served as Assistant Director. In that capacity, she facilitated program development and administration of a renowned research lab engaged in multidisciplinary marine and terrestrial research, encouraging productive collaborations with federal and state partners such as the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration, U.S. Geological Survey, and California Department of Fish and Game.

Stakeholder Advisory Group Members:

Sport Fishing
Chuck Bonham, Trout Unlimited
Robert Gallia, Golden Gate Fisherman's Assoc.
April Wakeman, The Sportfishing Conservancy

Commercial Fishing
Josh Fisher, California Lobster and Trap Fishermen's Assoc.
Zeke Grader, Institute for Fisheries Resources
Diane Pleschner-Steele, California Wetfish Producers

John Carlson, Jr., California Waterfowl Assoc.
Bill Gaines, California Outdoor Heritage Alliance
Rick Copeland, Wilderness Unlimited

Nonprofit Conservation Organizations
Mark Biddlecomb, Ducks Unlimited
Kathy Wood, Tulare Basin Wildlife Partners
Jay Ziegler, The Nature Conservancy

Non-Consumptive Recreational Users
Kim Delfino, Defenders of Wildlife
Jennifer Fearing, The Humane Society of the United States
Daniel Taylor, Audubon California

Steven Brink, California Forestry Assoc.
Eileen Reynolds, Tejon Ranch Company
Nita Vail, California Rangeland Trust

Walter Duffy, Humboldt State University
Dennis Murphy, University of Nevada, Reno
Jeff Self, Retired Elementary School Teacher
Brent Stewart, Hubbs-Seaworld Research Institute

Noelle Cremers, California Farm Bureau Federation
Karen Buhr, California Assoc. of Resource Conservation Districts
Margo Parks, California Cattlemen's Assoc.

Business and Industry
Cliff Moriyama, California Building Industry
David Moser, Ebbin Moser + Skaggs LLP
Diane Ross-Leech, Pacific Gas & Electric Company

Tribal/Environmental Justice
Jesse Gonzalez, Scotts Valley Band of Pomo Indians
Craig Tucker, Karuk Tribe
Thomas O'Rourke, Yurok Tribe

Christopher Voight, California Assoc. of Professional Scientists
Jerry Karnow, Jr., California Fish and Game Wardens' Assoc.
Brad Willis, Service Employees International Union Local 1000

Marine Resources
Bob Bertelli, California Sea Urchin Commission/California Fisheries Coalition
Kaitlin Gaffney, Ocean Conservancy
Deborah Self, San Francisco Baykeeper

Brenda Burman, State Water Contractors
David Guy, Northern California Water Assoc.
Tim Quinn, Assoc. of California Water Agencies

Local Government
Deborah Byrne, Yuba County Fish and Game Commission
Marty Fortney, Inyo County Board of Supervisors
Mark Marshall, Colusa County Board of Supervisors

State Government
Jonna Engel, California Coastal Commission
Kamyar Guivetchi, Department of Water Resources
Annette Whiteford, Department of Food and Agriculture

Federal Government
Patrick Christman, U.S. Marine Corps, Marine Corps Installations West
Diana Craig, U.S. Forest Service
David Fuller, U.S. Bureau of Land Management

John Finger, Hog Island Oyster Company
Dan Silver, Endangered Habitats League
Darla Guenzler, California Council of Land Trusts

For more information regarding the Fish and Wildlife Strategic Vision, please visit

Public comments are always welcome and can be sent via email to:

© Copyright