Sunday, July 24 2016

            We Deliver News to the Sierra
News Fire News spacer Latest News spacer Regional News spacer California News spacer USA News spacer World News spacer Op-Ed spacer Enviro News spacer Sci Tech News spacer Life spacer Odd News spacer Cartoons spacer
Features The Calendar features features Weather features Sierra NightSky features features features Road Conditions features Home spacer

Longtime Jazz Host, YubaNet Grab Top KVMR Honors


By: Steve Baker, KVMR

NEVADA CITY, Calif. December 10, 2009 - A longtime jazz broadcaster received lifetime honors and the editor of YubaNet's fire news section are among those winning awards at Nevada City radio station KVMR's annual awards banquet this week.

Len Gorsky - a jazz host for 28 years this January - was cited for his programming and service to the station as this year's winner of the Bill Tuttle Lifetime Achievement Award. A former KVMR board member and broadcaster trainer, Gorsky recently returned to his long-running "Lullaby of Birdland" show (second Thursdays, 8 p.m.) after a personal leave.

"Len is someone who worked hard and long to make this a better radio station," KVMR Program Director Steve Baker told the Miner's Foundry crowd of 200. "It's so nice to have him back, especially with a surprise lifetime honor."

Pascale Fusshoeller of YubaNet.com, the regional online news service, won KVMR's Osborne-Woods Community Service Award for her contributions to fire and emergency news called in to the community station.

"Her outstanding and knowledgeable coverage of fire situations were constantly alerting our listeners to changing conditions," said Baker. "For being a true media partner with KVMR, she is someone outside KVMR who feels at home with us always."

The broadcast awards were determined by the station's Program Committee, which includes both KVMR on-air programmers and community representatives.

They included:

- John Nichols Excellence in Music Programming awards to blues/jazz host Derek Washington, worldbeat executive producer Dawn Fischer and longtime Wednesday Music Magazine host Connie Coale

- Jody Fenimore Public Affairs Award to Elisa Parker, producer of "See Jane Do," a national series and website "for everyday women doing extraordinary things to save the planet."

- Rookie of the Year to April Miranda, host of "Mountain Beat Music", 4- 7 a.m. alternate Wednesdays.

- Out of the Box Award to T. E. Wolfe for his Sunday 9 p.m. story reading series, "A Word In Edgewise".

- Utah Phillips Award to Paul Emery for the KVMR Evening News, 6 p.m. weeknights.

- Night Owl Award, for late night programming, to Martha Kuhns for her "Back Room" show Fridays at 10 p.m.

The Listener's Choice award, voted by the station's Listener Guide readers, went to Larry Hillberg, host of Saturday morning's "Backroads" show, for the third consecutive year.

Special awards were presented to veteran morning newscaster Travus T. Hipp, Money Matters host Marc Cuniberti for his "unprecedented success" in membership drives, late night program coordinator Ralph Henson and "Comeback Kid" Hap Hazard, who returned to the 4 p.m. Friday Music Magazine after a dozen year exit.

Perhaps the most unusual program award went to Angelina Accardi as "Mother of the Year." Her son, Jimmi Accardi, calls her each Monday afternoon during his oldies show (2-4 p.m.) and the committee honored his mom "for her ability to put a smile on our faces every time she comes on the radio, plus her Italian recipes."

KVMR's professional staff also honored other volunteers who have helped them with their functions the past year.

"Volunteer of the Year" honors went to longtime producer Wesley Robertson, a broadcaster whose passion is for live remote music broadcasts.

Robertson was the station's producer of California Worldfest and the KVMR Celtic Festival live broadcasts from the Nevada County Fairgrounds, as well as a series of live shows from the Sierra Nevada Brewery Big Room in Chico over the past year.

His festival broadcasts involve work by 20 to 30 volunteers each time.

Other volunteer honors went to:

- Engineering department awards to live remote volunteers "The Cable Guy" Dave Shutt and "Tech Crew Whip Cracker" Dave Brown, plus John Adams and Dennis Brunnenmeyer.

- Celtic Festival volunteers Jim Gibson and Allison Miller.

- Membership Department honors to Chuck Carlson.

- Outreach Awards to Kim Bryant and Andy Dooley-Miller.

- News Department Awards to Max Fenson and Chelsea Davis.

- Music Department Awards to Kim Rogers and Larry Landis.

- Board of Directors honors to Joey Jordan, retiring after six years on the board and five as its chair.

Station volunteers also voted Membership Director Sandy Brown and Music Director Alice MacAllister as winners of the Steve Baker Award, given annually to staffers for having done the most extra work for broadcasters.


Help us bring you more news. Be a real reader: Support YubaNet

By submitting a comment you consent to our rules. You must use your real first and last name, not a nickname or alias. A comment here is just like a letter to the editor or a post on Facebook. Thank you.


Latest Headlines


Happening Now - July 2016

Heating up to near record highs through the week

Potential solution for disposing of butane canisters in the works

Post W - facts and figures

Open Spaces and Wild Places: A Celebration of Land

Transition to above normal temperatures over the weekend

Proposed after-W ordinance text released

Fire Restrictions in Effect and New Fire Information Phone Line for the Eldorado National Forest

Op-Ed | Scott V. Young: Supervisors, please honor your promise

One last cool day






NEWS . Fire News . Latest . Regional . California . USA . World . Op-Ed . Enviro . Sci/Tech . Life . Odd News . Cartoons
FEATURES . The Calendar .Weather . Sierra NightSky. Road Conditions
YubaNet.com . Advertising. About Us . Support YubaNet . Contact Us . Terms of Use . Privacy

YubaNet.com © 1999-2016
Nevada City, California (530) 478-9600