SACRAMENTO January 28, 2021 – The California State Senate confirmed Assemblymember Shirley Weber (D-San Diego) as the state’s Secretary of State in a 29-0 floor vote on Thursday, January 28, 2021.

The Senate Rules Committee confirmed Dr. Weber’s nomination during a hearing on Wednesday.

Senate President pro Tempore Toni G. Atkins (D-San Diego) characterized Dr. Weber as a principled leader whose morality, determination, and empathy make her the perfect leader for the constitutional office.

“Dr. Weber’s appointment makes history, but I believe that as Secretary of State, Shirley Weber will continue to make history, especially in ensuring California’s leadership on voting rights and voter participation,” said Senate Leader Atkins, who also chairs the Senate Rules Committee. “It’s no surprise that we have learned so much from Dr. Weber over the years, given her career as a college professor – now, we once again will get to learn from her actions as she leads this critical office, and protects our most sacred democratic process. This is a proud day for California.”

Dr. Weber, who taught Africana Studies at San Diego State University for more than four decades and was first elected to the California State Assembly in 2012, chaired the Assembly Budget Committee and the Assembly Committee on Elections.

“Dr. King teaches us that we are at our best when we stand up in service of others and I am humbled to be able to continue to stand up for Californians as Secretary of State,” Dr. Weber said. “I thank the Governor for his nomination, the State Senators and the Assemblymembers who voted to confirm my appointment, and the Californians who expressed their faith in my ability to assume this critical office. I look forward to lifting up and defending our democratic values of inclusivity and participation in this new role.”

Toni G. Atkins is President pro Tempore of the California Senate. Having previously served as Speaker of the California Assembly, she began her tenure in the Senate in 2016. As Senator for District 39, she represents the cities of San Diego, Coronado, Del Mar and Solana Beach. Website of President pro Tempore Toni G. Atkins: