NEW YORK September 24, 2017 – President Trump tonight issued a third version of his Muslim ban. Like the previous version, this ban blocks travel to the United States from six predominantly Muslim countries. The newest ban also bars North Koreans and Venezuelan government officials. Unlike the previous versions, this ban is of indefinite duration.

The American Civil Liberties Union and partner organizations are challenging Trump’s current Muslim ban, with Supreme Court arguments slated for October 10.

ACLU Executive Director Anthony D. Romero had this reaction to the new restrictions:

“Six of President Trump’s targeted countries are Muslim. The fact  that Trump has added North Korea — with few visitors to the U.S. — and a few government officials from Venezuela doesn’t obfuscate the real fact that the administration’s order is still a Muslim ban. President Trump’s original sin of targeting Muslims cannot be cured by throwing other countries onto his enemies list.”

The challenge to Trump’s current Muslim ban was brought by the ACLU, ACLU of Maryland, and the National Immigration Law Center on behalf of HIAS, the International Refugee Assistance Project, and the Middle East Studies Association, along with individuals affected by the ban.