SACRAMENTO, CA – On Wednesday, Nevada County Supervisor Dan Miller was installed as the Chair of the Rural County Representatives of California (RCRC), a service organization that champions policies on behalf of its 38 member counties. Supervisor Miller will lead the advocacy organization throughout 2022.

“I am honored to lead RCRC this year with the assistance of my colleagues from counties across the state of California,” said Supervisor Miller. “The work we do through RCRC is critical to advancing the interests of rural counties and promoting a greater understanding about the unique challenges our communities face.”

RCRC’s Board of Directors is headed by four officers composed of elected County Supervisors from the organization’s 38 member counties. Nevada County has been a member of RCRC since 1976. Joining Supervisor Miller on the leadership team are First Vice Chair and Butte County Supervisor Doug Teeter, and Monterey County Supervisor Chris Lopez, who will serve as Second Vice Chair. Mono County Supervisor Stacy Corless remains an Officer in the role of Immediate Past Chair. The newly installed 2022 Officers will guide the organization in shaping public policies for California’s rural counties.“

As we enter 2022 our rural counties face significant issues requiring focused attention and resources,” added Supervisor Miller. “Top priorities for RCRC include wildfire prevention and forest sustainability and the advancement of broadband deployment. Through collaborative and innovative action, I look forward to working with our member counties and policymakers on these issues for the benefit of rural Californians.”

The official Oath of Office was administered by California State Senator Brian Dahle during a virtual RCRC Board of Directors meeting on the morning of January 12th.