Photo Credit: David Murakami

NEVADA CITY, Calif. July 8, 2019 – The 2019-20 Nevada County Grand Jury will conduct the first meeting of its term tomorrow, July 9th. California’s Grand Jury system was established in the 1849-50 State constitution and is designed to improve public oversight on all aspects of county and city government, including special districts.

Grand Juries conduct independent investigations and have broad access to public officials, employees and records. Its fact-finding efforts result in written reports, which are available at

Last year’s Nevada County Grand Jury investigated 47 issues and released a wide varitey of reports on topics ranging from fire preapredness and homelessness to the Nevada County Dispatch Center and local Special Districts. Almost half of the complaints investigated were initiated by confidential citizen complaints.

Members of the 2019-20 Nevada County Grand Jury include: Gordon Mangel, Foreperson, Dave Anderson, Ed Cuffe, Keely Darrow, Cheryl Dell. Loydyne Lane, Barbara Lagud, Mark Larson, John Lawler, Lynn Mangel, Don Martin, Vernon McCrea, Robert Packard, Larry Peabody, Vickie Sandoval, Mark Schaefer, John Spencer, Alice Siudziniski and Terry Young.