November 27, 2020 – As we approach the year’s end, we are all being asked to support our community through financial contributions to the causes we care about.  But this year, our local nonprofit community is asking for MORE …philanthropy in its broadest sense.  We encourage you and your families to stay small and stay safe.
Nonprofits have utilized ideas and talents they had never considered in order to keep up with the demand for services in the community.  We have worked hard to provide food, shelter, job services, health care, animal assistance, childrens’ services, environmental protections, senior services, arts and music events.  Keeping our doors open requires a healthy workforce and a healthy community.
For the benefit of all – Please follow recommended safe choices for your family gatherings this holiday season; follow guidelines for small gatherings, socially distance when in public, wear a mask when around those outside your household and shop safe by staying local.
This year, we have all been pushed to change our lives in ways we never imagined, yet, we continue to rise to the challenge. Today, we are asking you to take the steps necessary to keep our community and workplaces safe for those vulnerable to the effects of Covid-19.
Your favorite organizations still need the financial support you have always provided, AND we implore you to implement the safety measures needed to allow all of us to continue to live and thrive in this special community. 
As we find different and creative ways to safely give thanks this holiday, we want to wish you all a very Happy (albeit, most unusual) Thanksgiving, one that won’t soon be forgotten.
Center for Nonprofit Leadership: Wendy Willoughby, Managing Director & Jennifer Singer, Board President
Acres of Hope: Lisa Risdal, Executive Director
Anew Day: Tricia Johnson, Executive Director
AnimalSave: Carolyn Niehaus, Executive Director
Bear Yuba Land Trust: Erika Seward & Erin Tarr, Co-Executive Directors
Bright Futures for Youth (The Friendship Club & NEO): Jennifer Singer, Executive Director
Center for the Arts: Amber Jo Manuel, Executive Director & Betsy Swann, Board President
Child Advocates of Nevada County: Marina Bernheimer, Executive Director
Color Me Human: Tracy Pepper, Executive Director
Community Beyond Violence: Stephanie Fischer, Executive Director
FREED Center for Independent Living: Ana Acton, Executive Director & Mark Fenicle, Board President
Good Sun Solar: Eric Stikes, Executive Director
Granite Wellness Centers: Ariel Lovett, Executive Director
Grass Valley Downtown Association: Marnie Marshall, Executive Director
Habitat for Humanity, Nevada County: Lorraine Larson, Executive Director
Hospice of the Foothills: Vivian Tipton, Executive Director & Karyn Packard, Board President
Hospitality House: Nancy Baglietto, Executive Director
InConcert Sierra: Julie Hardin, Executive Director & Monroe Lovelady, Board President
Interfaith Food Ministry: Phil Alonso, Executive Director & Bob Thurman, Board President
KVMR Community Radio: Ali Lightfoot, General Manager
Miners Foundry Cultural Center: Gretchen Bond, Executive Director
Mountain Stream Meditation: Marcia Craighead, Executive Director
Music in the Mountains: Jenny Darlington-Person, Executive Director; Terry Brown, Board President & Ryan Murray, Artistic Director & Conductor
Nevada City Film Festival: Jesse Locks, Executive Director
Nevada County Arts: Eliza Tudor , Executive Director
Nevada County Media: Ramona Howard , Executive Director
Nevada County Historical Society: Daniel Ketcham, Board President
One Source – Empowering Caregivers: Carolyn Seyler, Executive Director
Saint Joseph’s Cultural Center
Sammie’s Friends
: Cheryl Wicks, Founder & Board President
Sierra Commons: Robert Trent, Executive Director & Erika Kosina, Board President
Sierra Foothills Village: Valarie Bush, Executive Director
Sierra Stages: Peter Mason, Executive Director
Sierra Nevada Memorial Hospital Foundation: Kimberly Parker, Executive Director
South Yuba River Citizens League: Melinda Booth, Executive Director
Tahoe Cross Country Ski Education Association: Ben Grassechi, Executive Director
United Way of Nevada County: Megan Timpany, Executive Director
Wildlife Rehabilitation & Release