GRASS VALLEY, Calif. January 7, 2017 – State assembly district 1 democrats met today in Grass Valley and Redding to elect delegates to the State Convention. These delegates represent roughly one-third of the governing body of the California Democratic Party.  At the yearly conventions, these delegates vote to elect officers and regional directors, make legislative endorsements, take positions on ballot propositions, pass resolutions, change party rules, and develop the platform.

Assembly District 1 includes all of the following counties in Northern California: Lassen, Modoc, Nevada, Plumas, Shasta, Sierra and Siskiyou, as well as 16.7% of Placer County and 9% of Butte County.

The votes have been tallied and the Democratic Delegates to the State Convention from Assembly District 1 are as follows:


Nicole Lutkemuller

Itara O’Connell

Margaret Joehnck

Kathleen Timbers-Cogg

Ricki Heck

Monica Senter

Robin Richards


Eric Robins

David Steakly

Tomas Arturo Vera

Felipe Garcia

Jim Hermann

Peter Minett

(The final male candidate slot has not been announced pending a recount due to very close vote tallies.)

The saw one of the largest voter turnouts for delegate elections in AD1 in recent history.

One reply on “Democrats elect delegates to state delegation”

Comments are closed.