Stacy Drake, Business Person of the Year with Cathy Wilcox-Barnes, President Rotary Club of Nevada City

February 7, 2018 – The annual Business Person of the Year Award is a joint decision made by the Rotary Club of Nevada City and the Nevada City Chamber of Commerce.  The intent is to honor a Nevada City business person who demonstrates ethical standards in his or her business or profession as well as community spirit and service.

In addition to the expected business ethics, it is important that the person can pass the Rotarian four-way test when conducting his or her activities in the following ways:

Is it the truth?

Is it fair to all concerned?

Will it build good will and better friendships?

Will it be beneficial to all concerned?

This year’s Business Person of the Year Award was awarded to Stacy Drake, owner of the Nevada City Advocate at the Nevada City Chamber Installation and Annual Awards dinner on February 3, 2018.  Stacy Drake has always been an active, enthusiastic participant in the business and social life of Nevada City.  Throughout the years, she has given tirelessly of time and money, raising funds, giving service and promoting events through non-profit endeavors.  Stacy not only continually demonstrates the 4-way test of Rotary personally, but also through a business that is an extension of love and commitment to our community.  Stacy has served on the Chamber of Commerce Board of Directors in the past and is a member of the Rotary Club of Nevada City.

At the Awards Dinner, the Chamber also honored Dave Iorns who passed away in January for his long-time service to Nevada City and our community at large. Nevada City Chamber has renamed the Lifetime Achievement Award to the Dave Iorns Lifetime Achievement Award.

As announced in November, editor & co-founder of YubaNet, Pascale Fusshoeller, was presented the 2017 Elza Kilroy Award for outstanding community service. Barbara Tanner, Nevada City event coordinator, was honored with the Dr. Leland and Sally Lewis Visual Arts Award. Sierra Stages was the recipient of the 2017 Dr. Leland and Sally Lewis Performing Arts Award.  Rebecca Coffman, was recognized with the Annual Stan Halls Architectural Award. The Music In the Mountains Young Composers Program received the Chamber’s 2017 Live Music Award. Dan Reinhart Masonary was presented the W. Lon Cooper New Construction Award.